2012–2023
IBA Thüringen

URBANRURAL

The topic of IBA Thüringen (Thuringia) is STADTLAND (URBANRURAL). Over a ten year period, it will starts from the piecemeal settlement structure in the Free State of Thuringia and broaden the focus to the interdependencies of urban and rural areas. 

Marta Doehler-Behzadi has been Managing Director of IBA Thüringen since 2014. Together with local stakeholders, she and her team wanted to respond to the challenges of demographic shrinkage, climate change and the energy transition, as well as various phenomena of sociocultural transformation throughout the entire Free State of Thuringia, and an extremely piecemeal settlement structure in a largely rural region, with new ideas and model projects.

The term STADTLAND stands for changed relationships between individuals and nature, settlement and landscape, as well as society and its resources. The goal of IBA Thüringen is to change the "social metabolism". It strives to solve problems (better) through innovative urban-rural relationships on an equal footing. The regional reference becomes a thematic parenthesis for discourse and projects of IBA Thüringen. The work concentrated on three “IBA Building Sites”, which focus on rethinking and rebuilding, cooperations and a culture of good planning and building in urban and rural areas. 

In 2019, a work exhibition will document the progress to date of the IBA process, and the final presentation will take place in 2023. The results and findings of the IBA Thüringen are intended to influence politicians and administration, society and business in their everyday activities, and inspire changes that have an impact beyond the end of the IBA Thüringen. 

IBA Thüringen GmbH was founded in 2012 based on a resolution by the State Government of Thuringia. The Free State of Thuringia is the sole shareholder. Financing is largely provided from Thuringia’s budgetary funds. IBA projects are eligible for priority funding from the Free State of Thuringia.

www.iba-thueringen.de

The Eiermannbau in Apolda is a prominent example of the many vacant and disused buildings in Thuringia. After standing empty for more than 20 years, IBA Thüringen has started using the building and is developing it as an own initiative. Since summer 2016, it has hosted regular exhibitions and events as part of IBA Thüringen’s activities. Photo: Thomas Müller
The Chapel of St. Anna in Krobitz from the 11th century is no longer in use. In June 2017, the artist Carsten Nicolai installed a sculptural “organ”, a gas-powered pyrophone that has since attracted numerous visitors to the chapel. The installation is part of the “STADTLAND:Church” project, which proposes new perspectives for vacant ecclesiastical buildings in Thuringia. Photo: Thomas Müller
Retrospective on two months of STADTLAND Sommer, the first milestone year of IBA Thüringen. In 2019, the 100th anniversary of the Bauhaus, the IBA work exhibition will be held. IBA Thüringen will present its results in 2023. Image: Thomas Müller
How can a disused industrial site situated between refugee accommodation and a housing estate become a motor for exchanging experiences, learning, working and recreation for the local neighbourhood? In a summer workshop, the local residents laid the foundation for a programme of spaces and a vision for the future. Photo: Thomas Müller
Start of the first rebuilding site at Rottenbach railway station. The new design of the station square and transport intersection with STADTLAND:Inseln, the Gateway to the Schwarzatal Valley is taking shape. Image: Thomas Müller

2012–2023
IBA Thüringen

STADT­LAND

Die IBA Thüringen hat STADTLAND zu ihrem Thema gemacht. Über mehr als zehn Jahre nimmt sie die kleinteilige Siedlungsstruktur des Freistaates Thüringen zum Ausgangspunkt und legt den Fokus auf die Wechselwirkungen von Stadt und Land. Geschäftsführerin der IBA Thüringen ist seit 2014 Marta Doehler-Behzadi. Gemeinsam mit den Akteuren vor Ort entwickeln sie und ihr Team ressourcenbewusste Projekte mit gemeinwohlorientierten Werten. Die IBA Thüringen motiviert ihre Projektträger zu innovativen STADTLAND Projekten, unterstützt kooperative Prozesse und fördert exzellente Gestaltung.

Der Begriff STADTLAND steht für veränderte Beziehungen zwischen Individuen und Natur, Siedlung und Landschaft sowie Gesellschaft und ihren Ressourcen. Der IBA Thüringen geht es um einen veränderten „gesellschaftlichen Stoffwechsel“. Durch gleichberechtigte und innovative Stadt-Land-Beziehungen sollen Probleme (besser) gelöst werden. Der Regionalbezug wird zur thematischen Klammer für Diskurse und Projekte der IBA Thüringen. Die Arbeit mit den STADTLAND-Projekten konzentriert sich auf drei thematische Schwerpunkte, wo Umdenken und Umbauen, Kooperationen und eine Kultur des guten Planens und Bauens in Stadt und Land im Mittelpunkt stehen.

Im Jahr 2019 wird der erreichte Arbeitsstand des IBA Prozesses in einer Werkschau dokumentiert, 2023 wird die Abschlusspräsentation stattfinden. Die Ergebnisse und Erkenntnisse der IBA Thüringen sollen in das Alltagshandeln von Politik und Verwaltung, Zivilgesellschaft und Unternehmen einfließen und Veränderungen bewirken, die über das IBA Finale fortwirken.

Die IBA Thüringen GmbH wurde 2012 auf Beschluss der Thüringer Landesregierung gegründet. Der Freistaat Thüringen ist einziger Gesellschafter. Die Finanzierung erfolgt im Wesentlichen durch Haushaltsmittel des Freistaates, IBA Projekte genießen eine Vorrangförderung im Freistaat.

www.iba-thueringen.de

Der Eiermannbau in Apolda ist ein prominentes Beispiel für den Leerstand in Thüringen. Nach über 20 Jahren ohne Nutzung hat sich die IBA Thüringen dem Gebäude angenommen und entwickelt es als Initiativprojekt. 2018 verlegt sie ihren Geschäftssitz in den Eiermannbau und entwickelt ihn als Open Factory. Foto: Thomas Müller
Lange war die St. Annen-Kapelle in Krobitz aus dem 11. Jahrhundert ungenutzt. Im Juni 2017 eröffnete hier die skulpturale Arbeit ‚organ’ von Carsten Nicolai. Die gasbetriebene ‚Flammenorgel’ zieht seitdem wieder zahlreiche Besucher in den Ort. Sie ist Teil des Projektes ‚STADTLAND:Kirche’, das neue Ideen für die Umnutzung leerstehender Kirchengebäude anschiebt. Foto: Thomas Müller
Rückblick auf zwei Monate STADTLAND Sommer, das erste Meilensternjahr der IBA Thüringen. 2019, im Jahr des 100. Bauhausjubiläums, gibt es die IBA Werkschau, 2023 präsentiert die IBA Thüringen ihre Ergebnisse. Foto: Thomas Müller
Wie kann aus einer Gewerbebrache zwischen Flüchtlingsunterkunft und Wohngebäuden ein Motor für Austausch, Lernen, Arbeit und Freizeit im Quartier werden? Bei einer Sommerwerkstatt legten die Anwohner den Grundstein für ein Raumprogramm und Zukunftsperspektiven. Foto: Thomas Müller
Start der ersten Umbaustelle am Bahnhof Rottenbach. Mit der Umgestaltung des Bahnhofsvorplatzes und Verkehrsverknüpfungspunktes mit ‚STADTLAND:Inseln’ nimmt das ’Tor ins Schwarzatal‘ Gestalt an. Foto: Thomas Müller