2013–2020
IBA Parkstad

Parkstad in Motion

The first International Building Exhibition in the Netherlands has started in the Parkstad Limburg region. The Parkstad region is made up of eight municipalities with a shared history and identity based on their mining past. Since the mines closed in the 1970s, the area has suffered a high level of unemployment; young people are abandoning the region. Together with the province of Limburg and since 2016 the municipality of Schinnen, IBA Parkstad aims to build a sustainable and economical future for the region. The Parkstad urban region is the initiator of IBA Parkstad. 

Since 2013, the IBA has been focusing on transforming the former mining region: Due to the decline in population, the region has a surplus of residential buildings, commercial real estate, churches and other social institutions. The goal is to adapt the region to the negative trend. It will bolster urban renewal, tap new business sectors – e.g. in the healthcare industry, nursing and logistics – and promote the energy transition. IBA Parkstad aims to stimulate the economy, regional planning and society. By involving local citizens at an early stage, IBA also wants to change values and raise awareness. Supervisor of IBA Parkstad is Jo Coenen, and Kelly Regterschot is the managing director.

IBA Parkstad centres around several spectacular and innovative projects. Cross-border projects, in particular with the Aachen region, promote the development of a joint economic region without borders. This calls for flexibility, creativity, innovation. Strong alliances will have to be formed to revive the spirits of the region. In this change process, IBA Parkstad’s function is to help find a consensus and serve as a catalyst.

The final presentation of IBA Parkstad will take place in 2020.

www.iba-parkstad.nl/en

In January 2017, IBA Parkstad presented a design concept for a viewpoint pavilion at the top of the former Wilhelminaberg coal slag heap, a local landmark and point of reference for the region. The new project should help foster a sense of local identity © IBA Parkstad / Designburo NEY+Partners
In the Parkstad region, a unique network of linked cycle paths and walking trails will be developed over the next few years. The route will link attractive natural greenery with the urban parks in the region © IBA Parkstad / Bosch Slabbers
The bicycle bridge in Onderbanken is to be one of the five key gateways to the Parkstad region © Marijke de Goey
The sand pits in Parkstad have been made accessible to the public for the first time, thanks to the work of the IBA, and are gradually becoming natural green areas. The IBA and its partners are devising sustainable new use concepts for these artificial landscapes © IBA Parkstad / Manon van der Linden
Three high-rise housing blocks in Kerkrade now stand vacant due in part to population decline in the region. Materials and building elements from the deconstruction and demolition of the blocks will be recycled and re-used for the design of new building prototypes © IBA Parkstad / Corné Netten
The Center Court will link the inner city of Kerkrade to Gravenrode landscape park. The neighbouring site of the former hospital will be converted and extended with new buildings to create a sustainable mix of sports, science, education, health care and care for the elderly © IBA Parkstad / KettingHuls
The centre of Heerlen will be partially demolished to make way for a new Central Park. The majority of the project, incorporating ideas by local residents, should be completed by 2019. The use of material from demolished buildings is an important part of the project © IBA Parkstad / Corné Netten
The IBA Scoop: An interactive 360 º visualisation to demonstrate to the public the challenges facing the Parkstad region and the approaches taken by IBA Parkstad © IBA Parkstad

2013–2020
IBA Parkstad

Park­stad in Be­we­gung

Mit der Region Parkstad Limburg nimmt erstmals eine Internationale Bauausstellung in den Niederlanden ihre Arbeit auf. Die Region Parkstad besteht aus acht Gemeinden, die aufgrund ihrer Vergangenheit als Bergbaugebiet eine gemeinsame Geschichte und Identität haben. Seit den Zechenschließungen in den 1970er Jahren macht ihr eine hohe Arbeitslosigkeit zu schaffen; junge Leute verlassen die Region. Gemeinsam mit der Provinz Limburg und seit 2016 der Gemeinde Schinnen strebt die IBA Parkstad an, eine nachhaltige und wirtschaftliche Zukunft für die Region zu gestalten. Initiator der IBA Parkstad ist die Städteregion Parkstad. 

Seit 2013 widmet sich die IBA Parkstad der weitergehenden Transformation der ehemaligen Bergbaugegend: Mit der Schrumpfung der Bevölkerungszahl gibt es in der Region ein Überangebot an Wohnhäusern, Gewerbeimmobilien, Kirchen und anderen Einrichtungen mit sozialer Nutzung. Ziel ist, dass sich die Region der rückläufigen Entwicklung anpasst. Der Stadtumbau soll vorangetrieben werden, neue Wirtschaftsfelder z.B. im Gesundheitswesen, der Pflege und der Logistik erschlossen und die Energiewende forciert werden. Die IBA Parkstad möchte der Wirtschaft, der Raumordnung und der Gesellschaft neue Impulse verleihen. Durch das frühzeitige Einbeziehen der Bürger vor Ort will die IBA auch einen Werte- und Bewusstseinswandel in der Bevölkerung erreichen. Supervisor der IBA Parkstadt ist Jo Coenen, die Geschäftsführerin ist Kelly Regterschot.

Der Kern der IBA Parkstad besteht aus einer Reihe spektakulärer und innovativer Projekte. Auch grenzüberschreitende Projekte insbesondere zur Region Aachen werben hier für die Entwicklung eines gemeinsamen Wirtschaftsraums ohne Grenzen. Dabei sind Flexibilität, Kreativität, Innovation und Allianzbildung in hohem Maße erforderlich, um der Region wieder neuen Elan zu geben. Die IBA Parkstad hat in diesem Wandlungsprozess eine konsensbildende und beschleunigende Funktion.

2020 wird die Abschlusspräsentation der IBA Parkstad stattfinden.

www.iba-parkstad.nl/de

Im Januar 2017 präsentierte die IBA Parkstad einen Entwurf für die Gestaltung der Spitze des ehemaligen Zechenbergs Wilhelminaberg, der als Landmarke die Identifikation der Menschen mit ihrer Region durch diesen Orientierungspunkt unterstützen soll © IBA Parkstad / Designburo NEY+Partners
In der Region Parkstad wird in den kommenden Jahren eine einzigartige durchgehende Fahrrad- und Wanderroute von internationalem Bedeutung angelegt. Geplant ist eine Route, die die attraktiven Grüngebiete und Stadtparks miteinander verbindet © IBA Parkstad / Bosch Slabbers
Die Fahrradbrücke in Onderbanken soll eine der fünf wichtigen Tore in die Parkstad Region werden © Marijke de Goey
Die Sandgruben in Parkstad werden durch die IBA erstmals der Öffentlichkeit zugänglich gemacht und transformieren allmählich zu öffentlichen Naturgebieten. Gemeinsam mit Partnern arbeitet die IBA an einer nachhaltigen Neunutzung dieser künstlichen Landschaften © IBA Parkstad / Manon van der Linden
Drei Wohnhochhäuser In Kerkrade stehen, auch durch den Bevölkerungsrückgang, leer und sollen abgerissen werden. Das beim Abriss freigesetzte Material wird dabei recycelt. Derzeit entsteht ein Gebäude-Prototyp, neu zusammengesetzt aus Bauteilen der Hochhäuser © IBA Parkstad / Corné Netten
Durch den Center Court soll sich der Stadtkern von Kerkrade hin zum Landschaftspark Gravenrode öffnen. Das angrenzende ehemalige Krankenhausgelände soll umgenutzt und durch Neubauten ergänzt werden: Hier entstehen nachhaltige Angebote durch neue Vernetzung von Sport, Wissenschaft, Bildung, Gesundheitsvorsorge und Pflege © IBA Parkstad / KettingHuls
Die Innenstadt von Heerlen wird in Zukunft zugunsten eines Central Parks zurück gebaut. Bis 2019 soll die Ausführung eines großen Teils vollzogen sein, auch unter Einbeziehung der Ideen der Bürger. Die Verwendung von Abbruchmaterialen durch den Rückbau ist dabei wichtiger Ausgangspunkt © IBA Parkstad / Corné Netten
Das IBA-Scoop: Eine interaktives 360º Visualisierung, um der Öffentlichkeit die Herausforderungen der Region Parkstad und Ansätze der IBA Parkstad zu demonstrieren © IBA Parkstad