2010–2020
IBA Basel

Growing Together Across Borders

True to its vision of “Au-delà des frontières, ensemble - Growing together across borders”, IBA Basel focuses on the border location in a highly fragmented urban region. In a ten year process ending in 2020, IBA Basel aims to promote strong regional networks in the border triangle. IBA Basel is the first international building exhibition to cross national borders, taking place simultaneously in Germany, France and Switzerland. 

Today, 32 IBA projects already showcase visions for a common future of the three countries. The IBA strives to bring together private and public sector stakeholders in a core urban area, and establish binding project partnerships across national, cantonal and municipal borders. 
As a result, the top priority for the projects and processes of IBA Basel is that they offer benefits beyond the immediate project location for the entire region. Via a multi-phase qualification and selection process, IBA Basel supports projects by public and private stakeholders to help them earn the IBA label. It also supports project development with studies, events for specialists and competitions, as well as offering support with communication or sourcing funding. IBA Basel also combines individual projects to thematically related IBA project groups, pooling forces across borders and promoting new ideas. That adds quality to every project, helping strengthen the entire region in the long term.

IBA Basel’s activities are based on the conditions and needs of the region. They include landscape zones, urban zones as well as living together in the urban area spanning three national borders. One goal is to promote a sense of belonging to the joint metropolitan region of Basel among the population. Moreover, the cross-border culture of cooperation is to be improved and the international halo effect of the entire IBA environment is to be strengthened. 

IBA Basel is funded by public-sector partners from all three countries with financial support from the European Union. Since 2014, Monica Linder-Guarnaccia has held the position of Managing Director of IBA Basel.

www.iba-basel.net

The Franco-Swiss Rhine bank path from St. Johann Basel to Huningue was the first IBA project to earn the IBA Label, 2016 © IBA Basel / Daniel Spehr
The IBA landscape with the 32 projects of IBA Basel, 2016 © IBA Basel / SUPERO
Building site for IBA Project Tram 3. From 2017 on, the tram will serve the Saint-Louis railway station in France, 2016 © IBA Basel / Daniel Spehr
Visualisation of the project 3LAND © VISUALISIERUNG: LIN

2010–2020
IBA Basel

Ge­mein­sam über Gren­zen wach­sen

Unter dem Leitsatz „Au-delà des frontières, ensemble - Gemeinsam über Grenzen wachsen" macht die IBA Basel die Grenzlage einer stark fragmentierten Stadtregion zum Thema. Mit Hilfe der IBA Basel sollen in einem zehnjährigen Prozess bis 2020 starke räumliche Vernetzungen im Dreiländereck vorangebracht werden. Die IBA Basel überspringt dabei als erste internationale Bauausstellung nationalstaatliche Grenzen und findet gleichzeitig in Deutschland, Frankreich und der Schweiz statt. 

Bereits heute zeigen 32 IBA Projekte, wie eine Zukunft zu dritt aussehen kann. Die IBA will dabei in einem urbanen Kernraum private und öffentliche Akteure zusammenbringen und verbindliche Projektpartnerschaften über die nationalen, kantonalen und kommunalen Grenzen hinweg schaffen. 

Oberstes Kriterium ist daher, dass die Projekte und Prozesse der IBA Basel einen Nutzen über den Projektstandort hinaus für die gesamte Region entfalten. Mithilfe eines mehrstufigen Qualifizierungs- und Auswahlverfahrens begleitet die IBA Basel die Projekte öffentlicher wie privater Träger auf dem Weg zum IBA Label. Zudem unterstützt sie die Projektentwicklung durch Studien, Fachveranstaltungen und Wettbewerbe und bietet Hilfe bei der Kommunikation oder Finanzierungssuche. Außerdem vernetzt die IBA Basel Einzelprojekte zu thematischen IBA Projektgruppen, um Kräfte grenzüberschreitend zu bündeln und neue Ideen hervorzubringen. So gewinnt jedes Projekt an Qualität, die nachhaltig dazu beiträgt, die gesamte Region zu stärken.

Die Handlungsfelder der IBA Basel leiten sich aus den Bedingungen und Bedürfnissen der Region ab. Sie schließen Landschaftsräume, Stadträume sowie das Zusammenleben über die drei Landesgrenzen hinweg mit ein. Ein Ziel ist, das Zugehörigkeitsgefühl der Bevölkerung zur gemeinsamen Metropolitanregion Basel zu fördern. Zudem sollen die grenzüberschreitende Kooperationskultur verbessert und die internationale Ausstrahlung des gesamten IBA Projektgebietes gestärkt werden. 

Die IBA Basel wird von öffentlichen Partnern aus allen drei Ländern getragen und durch Mittel der Europäischen Union finanziell unterstützt. Seit 2014 leitet Monica Linder-Guarnaccia als Geschäftsführerin die IBA Basel.

www.iba-basel.net

Der französisch-schweizerische Rheinuferweg St. Johann Basel – Huningue bekam als erstes IBA Projekt das IBA Label, 2016 © IBA Basel / Spehr
Die IBA Landschaft mit den 32 Projekten der IBA Basel, 2016 © IBA Basel / SUPERO
Baustelle zum IBA Projekt Tram 3. Die Tram soll ab 2017 bis nach Frankreich, Bahnhof Saint-Louis fahren, 2016 © IBA Basel / Spehr
Visualisierung des Projekts 3LAND © VISUALISIERUNG: LIN