2006–2013
IBA Hamburg

Leap across the Elbe

The largest populated river island in Europe, Wilhelmsburg, as well as Veddel and the Harburg Inland Port, were the bases for IBA Hamburg’s projects from 2006-2013. The problems and potential of current metropolises were accumulating on the Elbe islands: an international urban community and a fractured urban fabric. With roughly 70 projects, IBA Hamburg changed the face of these previously highly neglected areas completely. 

The major topic of IBA Hamburg under the leadership of Uli Hellweg was developing the southern quarters of Hamburg and using them to allow the booming metropolis to grow internally. IBA Hamburg dedicated itself to this in three key areas, its guiding themes.

Cosmopolis: How can an increasingly international urban community reach its potential? Good educational and cultural facilities promote a future-proof coexistence on the Elbe islands.

Metro-zones: What urban development opportunities do borders and transitional zones within a metropolis offer? And how can these areas become liveable quarters? 

City in a changing climate: How can we combine growth and sustainability? What could a climate-friendly future for metropolises look like?

The IBA Convention was also intended to promote a gradual transformation of the Elbe islands’ image. Key Hamburg-based stakeholders committed to becoming IBA partners by signing the document. With their support, they helped root IBA Hamburg in the local community. 

In the presentation year 2013 alone, over 420,000 visitors came to the Hamburg International Building Exhibition. In total, 70 architectural, cultural, social or ecological projects had been implemented by then. This included over 1200 apartments still under construction or already completed. 

The financial volume was also significant. Overall, public-sector investments totalling 300 million Euros were instigated, and IBA Hamburg was the basis for private investments of over 700 million Euros. After the end of the International Building Exhibition, IBA Hamburg GmbH continues to operate as a municipal project developer.

Sample projects:

Project area:
Hamburg

Sources and further information:
www.iba-hamburg.de
IBA Convention

2006–2013
IBA Hamburg

Sprung über die Elbe

Die größte bewohnte Flussinsel Europas, Wilhelmsburg, sowie Veddel und der Harburger Binnenhafen zählten von 2006-2013 zum Projektgebiet der IBA Hamburg. Auf den Elbinseln bündelten sich sowohl die Probleme als auch die Potenziale heutiger Metropolen: eine internationale Stadtgesellschaft und ein zerrissenes urbanes Gefüge. Mit rund 70 Projekten hat die IBA Hamburg das Gesicht dieser bis dato stark vernachlässigten Gebiete vollständig verändert. 

Das große Thema der IBA Hamburg unter Leitung von Uli Hellweg war, die südlichen Stadtteile Hamburgs zu entwickeln und für das innere Wachstum der boomenden Metropole zu nutzen. Dem widmete sich die IBA in drei thematischen Schwerpunkten, den sogenannten Leitthemen: 

Kosmopolis: Wie kann eine zunehmend internationale Stadtgesellschaft ihre Kraft entfalten? Gute Bildungs- und Kulturangebote fördern ein zukunftsfähiges Miteinander auf den Elbinseln. 

Metrozonen: Welche städtebaulichen Möglichkeiten stecken in Grenz- und Übergangsorten innerhalb einer Metropole? Und wie können diese Orte zu lebenswerten Quartieren werden? 

Stadt im Klimawandel: Wie kann man Wachstum und Nachhaltigkeit verbinden? Wie kann die klimaverträgliche Zukunft von Metropolen aussehen?

Den allmählichen Imagewandel der Elbinseln sollte auch die IBA-Konvention befördern. Mit ihrer Unterschrift verpflichteten sich wichtige Hamburger Akteure als IBA-Partner. Mit ihrer Unterstützung trugen sie dazu bei, die IBA Hamburg lokal zu verankern. 

Allein im Präsentationsjahr 2013 besuchten mehr als 420.000 Besucher die Internationale Bauausstellung Hamburg. Insgesamt wurden bis zu diesem Zeitpunkt 70 bauliche, kulturelle, soziale oder ökologische Projekte realisiert. Darunter mehr als 1200 Wohnungen, die noch im Bau oder bereits fertig gestellt waren.  

Auch das finanzielle Volumen war beachtlich. Es wurden insgesamt öffentliche Investitionen von 300 Millionen Euro ausgelöst und private Investitionen von mehr als 700 Millionen Euro durch die IBA Hamburg angestoßen. Nach Ende der Internationalen Bauausstellung ist die IBA Hamburg GmbH als städtischer Projektentwickler weiterhin tätig.

Projektgebiet:
Hamburg

Quellen und weitere Informationen: 
www.iba-hamburg.de
IBA Konvention