Each International Building Exhibition was created under specific historic, social and political conditions as a sign of its times. The stakeholders in every exhibition formulated an urgent need for social reform and design, which they manifested in model projects. Due to the different chronological, spatial and financial conditions, each IBA was implemented and presented in its own way. 

As a result, the IBAs differ in subject and structure, but share the limited time frame and concentration of all efforts, funds and public attention on the predefined period. Accordingly, they always provided exceptional stimuli for a location or region. With their international discourse and ambitious quality standards, they also have a strong halo effect, both nationally and internationally. We can break the previous IBAs down into four development stages over the century they have been in existence:

 

1901 – 1957
The permanent building exhibition as an international demonstration of the state of the art in architecture

Early milestones in the history of building culture include Mathildenhoehe in Darmstadt, the Weissenhof Estate in Stuttgart and the Interbau in West Berlin. They were all built at times of historic upheaval and succeeded in breaking new ground in architecture and design with a strong political will and significant investment budgets. In this way, they made and built history. The IBAs were planned based on a strict social and building programme. This facilitated pioneering ensemble achievements, particularly impressive in the technical innovation and aesthetic and social quality of the buildings.
 

1979 – 1999
International Building Exhibitions as instruments of renovation for urban development

IBA Berlin and IBA Emscher Park were the first to incorporate existing buildings as well as new buildings. They shone a spotlight on urban quarters in need of renewal and the abandoned ruins of industrialisation. Process-driven work and local participation were emphasised increasingly, as process quality grew in importance. In addition to design innovations and a broader definition of architecture, social and ecological topics increasingly came to the fore. That earned IBA Berlin and  IBA Emscher Park international visibility, marking a high point in recent IBA history. 
 

2000 – 2013
International Building Exhibitions in a changing planning culture

With IBA Fürst-Pückler Land (also called IBA see) in the Lausitz region, IBA Stadtumbau (Urban Renewal) 2010 and IBA Hamburg, IBAs completed their transition to local and regional development programmes. In them, the IBA format is intentionally deployed at the intersection of urban and regional development policy objectives on one hand and strategic planning and project development on the other. Many locally active projects ensure the sustainability and acceptance of IBAs on the ground, but also generate international attention thanks to topics of global significance. They are financed through sophisticated municipal and state development programmes; the public funding for IBA Hamburg gave it strong leverage with private investors.
 

2010 – 2023
International Building Exhibitions on a new scale and transnational cooperation

The current Basel, Thüringen (Thuringia), Parkstad, Heidelberg, Wien (Vienna) and Stuttgart IBAs showcase how the perspective is broadening from local contexts, both in terms of programmes and projects, as well as international reach. They also explore the potential and challenge of “bottom-up planning” and aim to restore the social and political relevance of architecture and urban development, while also experimenting with different financing models.

Overview of IBAs:

1901 Mathildenhöhe Darmstadt
1927 Weißen­hof­sied­lung Stutt­gart
1957 Interbau Berlin
1979–1984/87 IBA Berlin
1989–1999 IBA Emscher Park
2000–2010 IBA Fürst-Pückler-Land
2002–2010 IBA Stadt­um­bau
2006–2013 IBA Hamburg
2010–2020 IBA Basel
2012–2022 IBA Heidelberg
2012–2023 IBA Thüringen
2013–2020 IBA Parkstad
2016–2022 IBA_Wien
2017–2027 IBA Stuttgart

Jede Internationale Bauausstellung ist als ein Zeichen ihrer Zeit unter je besonderen historischen und gesellschaftspolitischen Bedingungen entstanden. Die Akteure formulierten jeweils einen drängenden gesellschaftlichen Reform- und Gestaltungsbedarf, den sie in programmatischen Projekten sichtbar machen. Durch unterschiedliche zeitliche, räumliche und finanzielle Voraussetzungen wurde jede IBA auf ihre eigene Weise realisiert und präsentiert.

Deshalb unterscheiden sich die IBAs thematisch und strukturell, gleichen sich aber durch ihre zeitliche Begrenzung und die Konzentration aller Kräfte, Mittel und der öffentlichen Aufmerksamkeit auf den jeweils vorgegebenen Zeitraum. So setzen sie stets außerordentliche Impulse für einen Ort oder eine Region. Durch ihren internationalen Austausch und höchste Qualitätsansprüche entfalten sie gleichermaßen eine große Strahlkraft im In- und Ausland. Über die Jahrzehnte können vier Entwicklungsetappen der bisherigen IBAs unterschieden werden:

 

1901–1957
Die Bauausstellung auf Dauer als internationale Leistungsschau der Architektur

Erste Meilensteine in der Geschichte der Baukultur sind die Mathildenhöhe in Darmstadt, die Weißenhofsiedlung in Stuttgart und die Interbau (Hansaviertel) in West-Berlin. Sie alle entstanden in historischen Umbruchzeiten und konnten mit starkem politischen Willen und großen Investitionsbudgets architektonisches und gestalterisches Neuland erschließen. So schrieben und bauten sie Geschichte. Die IBAs wurden nach einem stringenten gesellschaftlichen und baulichen Programm geplant. So konnten wegweisende Ensembleleistungen entstehen, die vor allem durch technische Innovation sowie ästhetische und soziale Qualität der Bauten überzeugten.


1979–1999
Internationale Bauausstellungen als Sanierungsinstrument im Städtebau

Die IBA Berlin und IBA Emscher Park widmeten sich erstmals dem bereits vorhandenen Baubestand und nicht ausschließlich dem Neubau. Sie rückten sanierungsbedürftige Stadtquartiere und das brachliegende Erbe der Industrialisierung ins Rampenlicht. Dabei wurden prozessorientiertes Arbeiten und die Partizipation der Bewohner immer wichtiger, die Qualität der Verfahren gewann an Bedeutung. Neben gestalterischer Innovation und einem erweiterten Architekturverständnis debattierte man zunehmend auch über soziale und ökologische Themen. Dadurch erlangten die IBA Berlin und die IBA Emscher Park internationale Sichtbarkeit und markierten so einen Höhepunkt der jüngeren IBA Geschichte. 


2000–2013
Internationale Bauausstellungen im Wandel der Planungskultur

Mit der IBA Fürst-Pückler-Land in der Lausitz, der IBA Stadtumbau 2010 und der IBA Hamburg vollziehen die IBAs einen Wechsel zu lokalen und regionalen Entwicklungsprogrammen. Hier wird das Format IBA bewusst an der Schnittstelle zwischen stadt- und regionalentwicklungspolitischen Zielen einerseits sowie strategischer Planung und Projektentwicklung andererseits eingesetzt. Zahlreiche lokal wirksame Projekte sichern die Nachhaltigkeit und Akzeptanz der IBAs vor Ort, bewirken aber durch Themen von globaler Bedeutung internationale Aufmerksamkeit. Sie werden mithilfe ausgeklügelter kommunaler und staatlicher Förderprogramme finanziert. Die IBA Hamburg erreichte mit öffentlicher Förderung eine starke Hebelwirkung bei privaten Investitionen.


2010–2023
Internationale Bauausstellungen in neuem Maßstab und transnationaler Kooperation

Die aktuell laufenden IBAs Basel, Heidelberg, Thüringen, Parkstad und Wien verdeutlichen die thematische Ausdifferenzierung aus lokalen Kontexten in Hinblick auf Programm und Projekte sowie ihre internationale Strahlkraft. Zudem loten sie die Potenziale und Herausforderung der „Planung von unten“ aus und setzen darauf, die gesellschaftspolitische Relevanz für Architektur und Städtebau zurückzuerobern und mit verschiedenen Finanzierungsmodellen zu experimentieren.

Die IBAs im Überblick:

1901 Mathildenhöhe Darmstadt
1927 Weißen­hof­sied­lung Stutt­gart
1957 Interbau Berlin
1979–1984/87 IBA Berlin
1989–1999 IBA Emscher Park
2000–2010 IBA Fürst-Pückler-Land
2002–2010 IBA Stadt­um­bau
2006–2013 IBA Hamburg
2010–2020 IBA Basel
2012–2022 IBA Heidelberg
2012–2023 IBA Thüringen
2013–2020 IBA Parkstad
2016–2022 IBA_Wien